Reviews

Day 10! Review: The Case of the Drowned Pearl – Robin Stevens

Day 10: Murder Most Unladylike Challenge

Timescales:

DatePost
July 27thMurder Most Unladylike Review
July 28thArsenic for Tea Review
July 29thFirst Class Murder Review
July 30thJolly Foul Play Review
July 31stCream Buns and Crime Review
August 1stA Spoonful of Murder Review
August 2ndThe Case of the Missing Treasure Review
August 3rdDeath in the Spotlight Review
August 4thTop Marks for Murder Review
August 5thThe Case of the Drowned Pearl Review
August 6thMy Predictions for Death Sets Sail – dissecting the blurb
August ???Death Sets Sail Review
Get ready for 11+ days of Murder Most Unladylike posts!

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Trigger Warnings: Alcohol; Drowining; Murder; Poison

I loved reading this mini-mystery for World Book Day this year, this was such a fun and concise read. This mini-mystery is about the Detective Society solving the mystery of a body on the beach that smells of soap, not seawater. The Junior Pinkertons were also present, but the Detective Society did most of the detecting.

The Case of the Drowned Pearl is a perfect introduction into the Murder Most Unladylike series – it introduces the main characters perfectly without mentioning any previous events that could be spoilers for previous books. As this book was one of the World Book Day £1 books, I feel that The Case of the Drowned Pearl will have got many people into the Murder Most Unladylike series.

I didn’t have a clue who the murderer was when I was reading this book, as all of the suspects seemed like they could have killed Antonia. However, when the Detective Society were about to solve the case and no one seemed likely, I did think ‘at this rate, it might as well be {insert name of the murderer here}!

I did really enjoy The Case of the Drowned Pearl, I just found that I missed the likelihood of a second victim etc. that is usually in a full-length murder mystery. The Case of the Drowned Pearl was still a really fun read, and I loved how it was narrated by both Daisy and Hazel.

I recommend this book to any Murder Most Unladylike fans – this book is a perfect companion to the rest of the series.

Tomorrow is Death Sets Sail’s publication day (!!!!!), so I will be dissecting its blurb to create my predictions as to what will happen.

Thank you for reading this post.

Hannah